The path to purity

Having purified your souls by your obedience to the truth for a sincere brotherly love, love one another earnestly from a pure heart, since you have been born again, not of perishable seed but of imperishable, through the living and abiding word of God; for
“All flesh is like grass and all its glory like the flower of grass. The grass withers, and the flower falls, but the word of the Lord remains forever.”
And this word is the good news that was preached to you.
1 Peter 1:22-25

image

image

image

image

To make pure is to be untainted by other things.  To be pure in our hearts and minds is to be solely committed and obedient and loyal to God’s  Word and values.  When we allow other opinions to tug at our hearts we, according to James, become unstable in all our ways.  Jesus said we can’t have it both ways.  We can’t  say we choose God but love His enemies.  To be a disciple or follower of Jesus we have to be all in.  The path for approval in our culture is to seek power, wealth, importance, beauty.  The Bible says we can have it all but we must seek first God’s Kingdom and His righteousness.  What’s right with God is to serve others and watch out and care for the weak, the orphans, the widows, the “least of these” .  Jesus said we are His friends if we do whatever He commands.  We must spend time in His Word to find out what He values.  When the Holy Spirit speaks to our hearts we, if we are truly committed to be Christ followers, must obey.  One example in my own life is when I felt clearly God wanted me to cross the street and speak to a man who had pushed an elderly man tied to a wheelchair out onto an alcove to sit across from the reservoir.  I was out for exercise and taking pictures but I noticed them and was struck by the sweet picture of love in action.  Such kindness and care for this weak, elderly man.  Long ago the Lord showed me that the kind, sweet, encouraging or noble observations I have are His thoughts and ideas and to not share them to the one it’s intended for is stealing from Him, like postal theft.  God intented for me to pass these observations on like love notes to these men.  So I crossed the street and shared these thoughts with them.  The interesting thing is the older man’s name was Simon and the younger Peter.  I told them God was pleased with them and enjoyed watching the love and kindness between them.  I asked them if they knew Jesus and they did.  I asked if I could pray for them and they said yes.  They thanked me and said I made their day.  And I was blessed because I did what I was asked to do.   The more attentive to what is going on around us the more we will hear God speak.  He will never go against His nature of kindness and love so be sure if your thought is unkind to keep it to yourself.  God’s voice is sweet and brings encouragement and healing and if He’s asking you to do something out of your comfort zone or inconvenient than know He has invited you to partner with Him in blessing others.  Life with God is never dull.  And the more you say yes the happier and freer you will be.

Prayer:  Thank You God for not holding out on us in our lostness and confusion.  You did not withhold your only Son when You knew that His sacrifice was the only path to our forgiveness.  Thank you for leading us in paths that require tough choices to upgrade our faith and endurance and joy.  Holy Spirit I want to see what You see.  I want to hear the sweet words You want me to deliver to those about me.  I want to be single hearted and single minded in obeying Your Word.  You are so good God.  You are so gentle and kind and sweet and thoughtful.  I want to be all that.  Thank You for showing me the way to draw closer to You and to love and serve others.  You make all things beautiful in Your time.

Blessings!  Have an awesome day and listen for those messages God is handing you to pass along. ♡

3 thoughts on “The path to purity

Leave a Reply

